Sunday, October 15, 2017

Jeff Hanneman (of SLAYER) - Demos [Bootleg]
 I bought the vinyl , but I am curious what the CD booklet looks like, as the included insert (a little large than a 10"LP-sized page, that folds out) has the elaborate info about this album, printed in very tiny fonts!
"Jeff Hanneman solo project demo recordings never heard or released in their entirety elsewhere. The audio came straight from Jeff's original tape and has been professionally mastered & manufactured for this fan club CD. Comes with a 6-page fold-out booklet featuring an extensive essay, liner notes for each track, a killer Hanneman photo collage with a ton of never before seen shots, original Slayer-esque artwork as well as recreated vintage Slayer artwork associated with early 80's flyers, letterheads, etc. As stated in the essay:

This release is an homage and curation of material that has taken years and countless hours to create, to pay respect to an artist and individual responsible for changing the face of Metal, and music in general."

I don't have to rip / upload, since you can visit and get a VBR rip at

Slayer (1985) Seeds Of Horror The Jeff Hanneman Demos (2013 release)
01 – Angel Of Death
02 – Seeds Of Horror
03 – Raining Blood
04 – South Of Heaven
05 – Spill The Blood
06 – untitled (213)
07 – untitled
08 – untitled
09 – Living Just To Die
10 – DDAMM
11 – Abretions Asshole
12 – Can’t Stand You

Ok, so the sound quality will be too crappy if you only like albums with crystal-clear 24 track studio production,
These tracks were taken from ancient home-made demo tapes done by SLAYER's guitarist and can sound muddy at times.
By the way, the song " Living Just To Die" sounds a LOT like the demos by THE CRUCIFIED during their Minor Threat / D.R.I.-inspired days.

 "In 1984, Hanneman, Lombardo and Suicidal Tendencies guitarist Rocky George had a brief hardcore punk side project called "Pap Smear" - the band had many tracks and was due to start recording when Hanneman was advised to avoid the side project by Slayer's producer, Rick Rubin, who is quoted as saying "Ahhhh, don’t do it, man — this is the kind of thing that breaks bands up!" and Hanneman took Rubin's advice.

Only a demo was recorded, consisting of Hanneman on vocals and bass, Lombardo on drums and George on guitar. Later two of the songs were re-recorded on Slayer's 1996 album Undisputed Attitude. "
Exclusive! Interview With Slayer Guitarist Jeff Hanneman
By Brian Davis, Contributor
Monday, July 26, 2004

No comments:

Post a Comment