Monday, October 30, 2017

Rock Star Supernova

Rock Star Supernova was a reality television-formed supergroup consisting of
drummer Tommy Lee (Mötley Crüe),
bassist Jason Newsted (ex-Metallica),
guitarist Gilby Clarke (ex-Guns N' Roses)
and singer Lukas Rossi.
The band was formed during the second season of the Rock Star Reality TV series which was called Rock Star: Supernova.
I  don't think I am alone in thinking the following - what the fuck were the famous musicians thinking when this was released??
I watched that Rock Star TV series and figured if an album was made, it would be really heavy duty oldschool hard rock / heavy metal...
but no, we got something that was modern-sounding and lighter-sounding than expected.

NOW when I listen to this, I can appreciate it.
It is a great rock album,  a mix between the glam rock of the 1970s like T.REX and 1990s hard pop like Stone Temple Pilots.

Still, I wish this band had bashed out some Rolling Stones or Judas Priest/KISS type material.

1. "It's On" Tommy Lee, Butch Walker, Scott Humphrey 4:05
2. "Leave the Lights On" Lee, Walker, Humphrey     2:43
3. "Be Yourself (and 5 Other Cliches)" Gilby Clarke, Walker 3:10
4. "It's All Love" Lee, Walker, Humphrey     3:15
5. "Can't Bring Myself to Light This Fuse" Lee, Walker, Humphrey     3:51
6. "Underdog" Clarke, Walker, Lukas Rossi     3:37
7. "Make No Mistake... This Is the Take"     Lee, Walker, Humphrey 3:18
8. "Headspin" Rossi, Dominic Cifarelli     4:04
9. "Valentine" Clarke, Walker, Rossi     4:27
10. "Social Disgrace" Lee, Walker, Humphrey, Rossi     3:04
11. "The Dead Parade" Clarke, Walker, Rossi     5:28

FLAC 8 (Best quality)

No comments:

Post a Comment